You can sometimes get limited compensation for your injuries, even if you caused the accident. Maryland follows the rule of “contributory negligence.” If you hold any blame for an accident, you cannot recover compensation from the other driver for your injuries. This rule applies even if you are only 1% at fault.

Nevertheless, many people have Personal Injury Protection (PIP) benefits with their own car insurance company. PIP covers your medical expenses regardless of who caused the accident. Under Maryland law, auto insurance policies MUST provide at least $2,500 in PIP coverage to children under the age of sixteen. Maryland insurance policies are required to offer PIP coverage to others, but policyholders may choose not to purchase it. Most PIP policies cover up to $2,500 in medical bills, but some may cover more.

If the other driver is at fault, you can get compensation from BOTH your own PIP benefits, and also from the other driver or their insurance company. You get the PIP benefits in addition to whatever the other driver owes you.

In many cases, your PIP policy will also cover any passengers riding with you in your vehicle. Likewise, if you are a passenger in a vehicle, the driver’s PIP policy may cover your medical expenses.